I Hit a Cyclist and…

thesixfootbonsai

Roughly twenty-five percent of American drivers have been involved in some sort of auto accident in the past five years.  Six years ago I was involved in car-bike crash.  I was the driver and that day changed my life.

It was a sunny summer evening and I was facing west about to turn south.  The sun was in my eyes as I scanned the left and right– trying to find an opening to enter the busy two-lane highway for my two-mile trip home.  The intersection was known by folks in my office as a precarious one.  Traffic traveled fast. There was a slight bend in the road and an incline that made cars appear seemingly “out of nowhere.” I often found the turn unnerving.

It was just as I turned into the road that I heard a thud and saw arms go up in front of my Jeep bumper.  I…

View original post 665 more words

Leave a Reply

